Best Malayalam Movie Directors of All Time

Mollywood cinema industry is home to talented directors who are very much familiar among the Malayalam audience. While many directors from Malayalam in this contemporary generation are gaining pan-India popularity with their work, we are bringing you the list of Best Malayalam Movie Directors of All Time.

List of Best Malayalam Movie Directors of All Time

  • P Padmarajan

Padmarajan was an Indian author, screenwriter and director who prominently worked in Malayalam cinema. He is the founder of a film making school in Malayalam along with two other directors named Bharathan and KG George. Widely known for making critically acclaimed movies and social dramas, P Padmarajan won multiple Kerala Sahithya Academy Awards, Filmfare Awards, Kerala State awards. At a very young age, Padmarajan passed away at 45.

  • KS Sethumadhavan

KS Sethumadhavan is an Indian Malayalam director and screenwriter who even directed movies in Hindi, Telugu and Tamil. He directed more than 60 films in his career. KS Sethumadhavan won numerous awards including ten National Film Awards, Nine Kerala State Film Awards. In 2009, he was awarded the JC Daniel Award, the Kerala government’s highest honour for contributions to Malayalam cinema.

  • Ramu Lariat

Made his directorial debut with the 1954 film, Neelakuyil in association with another director P Bhaskaran, Ramu Lariat directed fifteen films and even acted in one of his films titled, Sanghaganam in a key role. In 1975, Ramu Lariat won the 9th Moscow International Film Festival. The director even won a couple of National Film Awards.

  • Govindan Aravinda

Govindan Aravinda was an Indian cartoonist, painter, musician and film director who is a pioneer of Malayalam cinema. He is widely known for doing experimental and authentic movies. For his contribution to the Malayalam cinema, Govindan Aravinda was awarded Padma Shri by the Indian government.

  • Adoor Gopalakrishnan

Adoor Gopalakrishnan is an Indian Malayalam language director, scriptwriter and producer. Gopalakrishnan pioneered a new wave in Malayalam cinema with the release of his first feature film, Swayamvaram in 1972. In his more than five decades film career, Gopalakrishnan made only twelve films but most of the films were premiered at Venice, Cannes and Toronto International Film Festivals. Gopalakrishnan is one of the most recognised directors among foreign countries. In 2004, he is honoured with the Dadasaheb Phalke award by the Government of India. In 2006, Gopalakrishnan was honoured with Padma Vibhushan by the Indian government. Adoor Gopalakrishnan is also honoured with multiple doctorate degrees and even got several state, National and Filmfare awards.

  • Bharathan

Bharathan was an Indian film-maker, artist, Art director and also the founder of a film making school in Malayalam cinema along with Padmarajan and KG George in the 1980s. Many talented techniques and directors came out from the film making school. In 1992, Bharathan won National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Tamil for Thevar Magan. In 1979, 1980 and 1984, the director won Filmfare awards. Bharathan also won several Kerala State awards.

  • TV Chandran

TV Chandran is a reputed Indian director, screenwriter and actor who predominantly worked in the Malayalam film industry. The senior director won several National and Kerala State awards. He owns a record of winning six National Film Awards and ten Kerala State Film Awards. TV Chandran also won several awards at international film festivals.

  • Sibi Malayil

Sibi Malayil is one of the senior directors from the Malayalam cinema industry. He won three National Film Awards, two Filmfare South Awards and six Kerala State Film awards in his career, to date.

  • Sathyan Anthikad

Sathyan Anthikad is an Indian film director, screenwriter and lyricist who is known for making family dramas in the Malayalam film industry. Sathyan Anthikad won several National Film Awards, Kerala State Awards, Filmfare South Awards, Asianet Film Awards, South Indian International Movie Awards, Mathrubhumi Film Awards.

  • AK Lohithadas

AK Lohithadas was an Indian screenwriter, playwright, filmmaker and producer who made films in Malayalam. The talented filmmaker died in 2009 at 54. In his career, AK Lohithadas won a National Film Award, six Kerala State Film Awards and fourteen Kerala Film Critics Awards for Best Script.

  • Fazil

Aleksa Muhammed Fazil is fondly known as Fazil is an Indian film director, producer, screenwriter and actor who worked on Malayalam movies. He even directed movies in Tamil and Telugu languages. In 1993, he won the National Film Award for Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment. He won the Best Director award at the 13th Kerala State Film Awards for his 1983 film, Ente Mamattukkuttiyammakku.

  • T Hariharan

T Hariharan was a veteran Indian film director who directed more than fifty films in the Malayalam industry. T Hariharan mostly made films based on cultural and relational aspects of Kerala society. In 2019, he was awarded the JC Daniel Award, the Kerala government’s highest honour for contributions to Malayalam cinema. The creative filmmaker won three National Film Awards, six Kerala State Film Awards, four Filmfare South Awards.

  • KG George

KG George is an Indian filmmaker, screenwriter who prominently worked in the Malayalam cinema. He along with Bharathan and P Padmarajan in the 1980s. In 2015, he was awarded the JC Daniel Award by the Kerala government for his contributions to the Malayalam cinema.

  • A Vincent

A Vincent was an Indian cinematographer and director known for his work in Malayalam, Tamil, Telugu and Hindi languages. For 1977 released NT Ramarao’s Telugu film, Adavi Ramudu, A Vincent won Best Cinematographer Award. For Nagarjuna and K Raghavendra Rao’s Annamayya also A Vincent won the Best Cinematographer Award.

  • Blessy

Blessy is an Indian film director and screenwriter who made critically acclaimed films in Malayalam. In 2005, Blessy won National Film Award for the film, Thanmathra. He even won six Kerala State awards, three Filmfare awards, two Asianet awards and several other regional awards.