Best Hindi Movie Directors of All Time

Hindi cinema is always been a good platform for techniques. If anyone gets a good name in a Hindi movie, their name will come into trending across other film industries within no time. Coming to the direction department, Bollywood is home to creative and versatile directors. Among numerous successful directors, we bring you the list of a few Best Hindi Movie Directors of All Time.

List of Best Hindi Movie Directors of All Time

  • Guru Dutt

Vasanth Kumar Shivashankar Padukone fondly known as Guru Dutt is the Indian film director, producer, writer, actor and cinematographer who prominently worked in Bollywood. He was included in Asian Top 25 Actors list by CNN in 2012. After making, acting and producing several iconic films, Guru Dutt passed away at the very young age of 39. Though Guru Dutt made only eight films as the director, he gained fame internationally with his amazing work.

  • Yash Chopra

Yash Chopra is one of the well-known directors in Hindi cinema. Apart from directing films, Yash Chopra even founded the Yash Raj Films banner and made a good number of films. For his brilliant work, Yash Chopra had won six National awards, eight Filmfare awards. For his contribution to the Hindi cinema, Yash Chopra was honoured with the Dadasaheb Phalke award in 2001 and Padma Bhushan Award in 2005. British Academy of Film and Television Arts( BAFTA) in 2006 presented him with a lifetime membership making him the first Indian to receive the honour.

  • Raj Kapoor

Apart from being a star actor, Raj Kapoor even produced and directed a good number of films. In his career, Raj Kapoor won three National awards, 11 Filmfare awards. A Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award is named and for films Awaara and Boot Polish, Raj Kapoor won nominated two times for Palme d’Or grand prize at the Cannes Film Festival. Raj Kapoor films used have huge craze among the Asian and European countries.

  • Hrishikesh Mukherjee

Hrishikesh Mukherjee is one of the noted directors. He is also an editor and writer from the Bollywood industry. As Hrishikesh Mukherjee made some iconic films, he was honoured with the Dadasaheb Phalke award in 1999. He was even honoured with Padma Vibhooshanh in 2001. He even received NTR National Award in 2001 and even won Eight Filmfare awards.

  • Bimal Roy

Bimal Roy who made social and realistic dramas brought good recognization to the Hindi cinema with his films. In his career, Bimal Roy won eleven Filmfare awards, Two National Film awards and the International Prize of the Cannes Film Festival.

  • Shyam Benegal

Shyam Benegal is an Indian director, screenwriter and documentary filmmaker. He was one of the finest directors Hindi cinema had in the early 70s. In 2005, Benegal is honoured with the Dadasaheb Phalke award by the Indian government. He even won multiple National and Filmfare awards.

  • Rajkumar Santoshi

Rajkumar Santoshi is an Indian director, screenwriter and producer who made brilliant movies in Hindi. He won the National Award three times and Filmfare awards six times.

  • Ramesh Sippy

Ramesh Sippy is an Indian commercial director who made iconic films like Sholay. He even produced films. The Indian government honoured him with the civilian award Padma Shri in 2013.

  • Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra

Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra is an occasional actor, director and screenwriter who has been making films in Hindi. A few of his great works include Rang De Basanti and Bhaag Milkha Bhaag. Both films brought Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra a good identity globally.

  • Mahesh Bhatt

Mahesh Bhatt is a reputed Indian director, producer and screenwriter who prominently work for Hindi films. His 1984 film, Saaransh was screened at the 14th Moscow International Film Festival. In his long career, Mahesh Bhatt won many National and Filmfare awards.

  • BR Chopra

Baldev Raj Chopra is a reputed director and television serials maker. He produced the iconic television series, Mahabharat in 1988. In 1998, BR Chopra was honoured with the Dadasaheb Phalke award by the Indian government. He was even honoured with Padma Bhushan award in 2001. In 2003, he was honoured with Filmfare Lifetime Achievement Award. BR Chopra also won a couple of Filmfare awards.

  • Sai Paranjpye

Sai Paranjpye is an Indian director and screenwriter who prominently worked for Hindi movies. She is widely known for making social dramas based on epics such as Mahabharata and Ramayana. For the years 1980, 83 and 92, Sai Paranjpye won National Awards. She even won Filmfare awards for the years 1982, 85 and 1992.

  • R Balki

R Balki is a renowned Bollywood director, screenwriter and former chairman for the advertising agency Lowe Lintas. For his film, Padman, R Balki won the Best Director award at the Indian Film Festival of Melbourne. Balki won National Film Award for Best Feature Film in Hindi. He also won five-screen awards at the 16th Star Screen Award ceremony.

  • Shoojit Sircar

Shoojit Sircar is an Indian Hindi language director and producer who is known for making intense social dramas. His films like Vicky Donor, Madras Cafe, Piku, October and Gulabo Sitabo brought him multiple awards as the Best Director and screenwriter.

  • Gulzar

Gulzar is an Indian Hindi language lyricist, poet, author, screenwriter, music composer and director. Gulzar is honoured with Padma Bhushan Award in 2004, Sahitya Academy Award, five National awards, twenty-two Filmfare awards, one Grammy award and an Academy Award for his amazing talent in various categories in cinema awards. Gulzar started his career as the songwriter for the 1963 movie, Bandini and eventually emerged as a multifaceted personality.